At Springwell Village Primary School we have several governors representing parents, staff and the local community. All our Governors have a shared focus: school improvement.

Governors are an integral part of our school. Working with the Head Teacher, Governors help oversee how the school is being run and managed. The key role of the Governors is to set out the school priorities and monitor the progress being made.

The governing body meet once a term and undertake tasks throughout the school year. These will include:

  • helping to establish the aims, policies and priorities of the school, and supporting school to continually raise the standard of education
  • ensuring that the national curriculum is implemented
  • ensuring that the minutes of meetings are available

If you would like more information about becoming a governor please contact the chair of governors, Chris Lane via email:

All Governors serve a three-year term of office.

Staff Governors (excluding the Headteacher) are elected through a staff ballot process (if necessary) following nomination.

Parents Governors are elected through a parent ballot processĀ (if necessary) following nomination.

Co-opted Governors and Associate Members are appointed by the Governing Body.

All governors are subject to a DBS check.


Mr Christopher Lane

Chair of Governors

Mrs Elizabeth Reid

Co-opted Governor

Mrs Stephanie Mallam

Parent Governor

Mrs Claire Swinburn

Parent Governors

Miss Bryony Parrish

Head Teacher & Staff Governor

Mrs Sophie Shaw

Staff Governor

Miss Karen Young

Staff Governor

Mrs Katherine Mackay

Parent Governor

Mr Colin Workman

Community Governor